One of the highlights of this month is the Inauguration of the School of Management.  The inauguration was held on 22 April 2017. The event started off with a press conference followed (Figure 1) by the blessing of the new building and a little program for the guests.

Figure 1: During the press conference, from left (left picture): Dean Tiffany Adelaine Tan, Chancellor Liza Corro, UP System EVP Theodoro Herbosa and Alumni Yvonne Gomos together with the Press and guests Msgr. Dakay, and SoM Prof. Jeff McFarland (right picture).

The program was short and sweet (Figure 2). As her welcome address, Dr. Tiffany Adelaine Tan, Dean of the School of Management, gave the rationale for the event, which is mainly to invite its alumni to join SoM in its pursuit of its vision – to be the leading regional educational institution for managers. This was followed by the ribbon cutting with Dean Tan, EVP Herbosa and Chancellor Corro. (Figure 3).

There were around 100 alumni (from both the undergraduate and graduate programs) who attended the inauguration (Figure 4). EVP Herbosa was the keynote speaker, in which he offered his support to the School as it moves forward towards achieving its vision and mission (Figure 5). Two alumni were invited to speak in the event. Mr. Francis Sollano (batch 2009) thanked his former teachers for their time and effort to teach him (and their batch) (Figure 6). Prof. Yvonne Gomos (batch 1982), on the other hand, brought back everyone to the time when the School of Management was just a program under the undergraduate program to being a Management Division (Figure 6). Chancellor Liza Corro also joined the event to give the closing remark (Figure 7).

Post comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • Telefax:

     (+63-32) 232-8185 local 116

    E-mail Address:

     [email protected]

     [email protected]

    Office Hours:

     Mondays to Fridays
    8:00AM – 5:00PM


    School of Management Office,

    University of the Philippines Cebu Gorordo Avenue, Lahug, Cebu City,

    Cebu 6000 Philippines


© 2017 UP Cebu School of Management. All rights reserved. Configured by UP Cebu Information Technology Center.